Elks Hoop Shoot winners announced

Saturday, December 26, 2009
The Nevada Elks Lodge held their local Hoop Shoot free throw contest on Saturday, Nov. 21. A total of 78 boys and girls participated this year, which was the largest turn-out in many years. The event is sponsored by the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks and the local lodges across the country. It is the largest non-commercial, co-educational sports event in the nation with more than 3 million kids between the ages of 8 and 13 competing across the country. The program is designed to build character while promoting integrity, hard work, quality family time and good sportsmanship. One boy and one girl from each of the three age categories wins the national title at the finals in Springfield, Mass. The top six national finalists' names are inscribed in the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. Girls' 8- to 9-year-old winners were: Adrian Bond-first, Alyssa Meisenheimer-second and Sami Fine-third. --Submitted Photos

Girls' 10- to 11-year-old winners were: Janna Scotten-second, Alaina Morgan-first and Carolyne Baldwin-third.
The girls' 12- to 13-year-old winners were, left to right: Brooklynn Vincent-first and Abbey Rinehart-second.
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: