Thompson, Judd take first at Nevada golf invite

Thursday, June 21, 2012

Nevada Daily Mail

NEVADA -- The 43rd Annual Four-Ball Invitational Golf Tournament was held June 9-10 at the Nevada Country Club.

The tournament was a two-day 36-hole stroke play event with two-man teams.

Mike Thompson and Tyler Judd took first place in the Championship Flight with a two-day score of 129. Mark McBride and Neal Stafford took second, also with a 129. Thompson and Judd won a sudden death playoff to take first.

Brian Ware and Eddie Morrisey were third (134), while Tim Judd and Nick Judd and David Swearingen and Joe Swearingen tied for fourth place. Both teams finished with scores of 135.

In the A Flight, the team of Joseph Ferry and Alex Christensen took first with a 140 and Kory Bowman and Ken Bowman were second (140) after a scorecard playoff. Kevin Mansfield and Dale Liesure tied for third with Chris Ellis and Larry McCord. Both teams had scores of 142.

In the B Flight, Jim Owen and Bill Hardin were first, with Ryan Harrison and Tyler Gast finishing second. Ron Herstein and John Ullmann tied for second. All three teams finished with scores of 142. A scorecard playoff determined the places. Kevin Triplett and David Dade tied for fourth with Lyndon Greenlee and Chadd Greenlee after both teams had scores of 143.

In the C Flight, the team of Ryan Talley and Nick Bland were first (153), while Bo Bishop and Greg Campbell were second (153).

There was a tie for third place, as the team of Dick Wachtel and Mike Domer and the team of Jesse Ornelas and Ken Richmond both had scores of 155.

There was also a horse race at the invite. Corey Owen and Joe Bauer were first.

Full results from the tourney are below.

Nevada Invitational Golf Tournament

Championship Flight

1.Mike Thompson-Tyler Judd, 129; 2. Mark McBride-Neal Stafford, 129; 3. Brian Ware-Eddie Morrisey, 134; 4. Tim Judd-Nick Judd, 135; tie. David Swearingen-Joe Swearingen, 135. Others: Todd Johnson-Doug Norris, 137; Blake Hertzberg-Adam Barrett, 138; Corey Owen-Joe Bauer, 138; Logan McCord-Chase Walters, 138; William Wynn Jr.-William Wynn III, 143; Ron Smith-Jeff Smith, 143; John Stafford-Jim Stafford, 145.

A Flight

1.Joe Ferry-Alex Christensen, 140; 2. Kory Bowman-Ken Bowman, 140; 3. Kevin Mansfield-Dale Liesure, 142; tie. Chris Ellis-Larry McCord, 142. Others: Andy Smith-Chris Smith, 144; Randy Gammon-Dan Davis, 144; David Ferry-Mike Cragin, 145; Tony Bowen-Ryan Gamble, 147; Mark Gayman-Kevin Ahlgren, 147; Gerald Dahmer-Jack Smith, 147; Mark Jones-Chris Jones, 148; Tavis Westphal-Bob Schuster, 149; Mark Vogt-Tim Glasscock, 149; Clem McFarland-Randy McFarland, 149; Russ Erwin-Steve Beckett, 150; Mike McCarter-Raymond Shumaker, 151; Ron Gielow-Terry Mitchell, 152.

B Flight

1.Jim Owen-Bill Hardin, 142; 2. Ryan Harrison-Tyler Gast, 142; tie. Ron Herstein-John Ullman, 142; 4. Kevin Triplett-David Dade, 143; tie. Lyndon Greenlee-Chadd Greenlee, 143. Others: Eric Barwick-Manny Roldan, 148; Jim Nichols-Everett-Randall, 148; Britt Clements-Conn Clements, 149; Dave Adams-Jim Finley, 149; Joe Hardin-Jeremy Fast, 150; Gary Coble-Jeff Baty, 152; Chase Owen-Rick Hatch, 157; Tyler Jones-Jordan Jones, 158.

C Flight

1.Ryan Talley-Nick Bland, 153; 2. Bo Bishop-Greg Campbell, 153; 3. Dick Wachtel-Mike Domer, 155; tie. Jesse Ornelas-Ken Richmond, 155. Others: Nick Swischer-Corey Swischer, 158; Jim Littell-Luke Littell, 159; Travis Jackson-Rick Hall, 159; Dan LaNear-Tim Richmond, 162; Nate Gulliford-Beau Gulliford, 164; RA Stratman-Erik Stratman, 164; Dave Cherry-Dusty Norris, 165; Paul Eador-Todd Shrewsbury, 168; Tom Wedbush-Curt Wedbush, 171; Ryan Renwick-Brant Ness, 173; Chris Hall-Doug Hall, 175.

Horse Race results

Win -- Corey Owen, Joe Bauer.

Place -- Chris Smith, Bob Schuster.

Show -- Mark Gayman, Kevin Ahlgren.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: