[SeMissourian.com] Fair ~ 71°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 50°F
Wednesday, May 4, 2016

NMS science fair concludes

Friday, November 16, 2012

Johnathan Marley take a photograph of a science fair project that is on the same topic that his daughter chose for a project when she was in the sixth grade. Marley said that she is now a student at Cottey College.
Nevada Daily Mail

The judges have spoken, and winners of the Nevada Middle School Seventh and Eighth Grade Science Expo have been announced. Judging took place Nov. 14-15; and parent viewing was held Thursday evening. Awards will be presented during a school assembly, today, according to eighth grade science teacher Angie Landoll.

The annual Nevada Middle School science fair is sponsored by the Nevada Rotary Club, and through that sponsorship, category champions receive $25 gift cards and the Best of Show champion receives a $50 gift card.

The science teachers working on this project include Amanda Pollock, Karen Gordon, and Angie Landoll.

Judges for this year's event were Cottey College professor Dr. Ganga Fernando, two unidentified Cottey College students, Janet Guthrie, Julie West, Karen Hertzberg, Fran Furry, Amy Hemphill, Jill Smith, Faye Koger, Rebecca Keltner, Lisa Russ, Bill Rhoads, Philip Gordon, Barbara Gordon, Jennifer Dryer, Bryan Gast, and Brian Norton.

Here are the award winners:

Category winners

Physical science category champion:

"Under Pressure"

Ben Satterfield

Technology and inventions category champion:

"Catapult Flight"

Luke Sudkamp

Chemistry and biochemistry category champion:

"Naked Egg"

Jerod Gerster

Botany category champion:

"Contaminated Water and the Growth of Lima Beans"

Alexis Tymeson

Zoology category champion:

"A/Maze/Ing Mice"

Johnathan Portwood

Medicine and health category champion:

"These Boots Were Made For Walking"

Virginia Haverstic

Consumer science category champion:

"Battling Boxes"

Cassidy Walles

Best of show award:

"Can You See In 3D?"

Chloe Bartlett

Science Teacher Awards

There are four awards named after former science teachers.

Winners are:

Joe Olive Award:

"Burn Baby Burn!"

Aly Lunkenheimer

Levon Haller Award:

"Crystal Creations"

Alyssa Meisenheimer

Janet Guthrie Award:

"The Eyes Have It"

Patrick Ferry

Larry Hurst Award:

"Coon Appetit'"

Eli Householder

Special awards:

Healthy Tips Award:

"Bacteria, Staph, E Coli, Oh My!"
Sydnie Baker

Most Creative Award:

"The Nutty 7th Grader"

Clay Landoll

Environmentally Friendly Award:

"Leave Out The Cigarettes"
Myles McNeley

Science Safety Award:


Conner Raney

Interactive Science Award:

"Lazy Liquids"

Kendra Belcher

Agriculture Award:

"Beef...The Biggest Gainer"

Hannah Bond

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: