Tiger swimmers recognized for dazzling achievements

Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Members of the Nevada Tiger swim team present head coach Clay Wheeler a gift during their postseason awards banquet. (From left) Tyler Armstrong, Grant Miller, Head Coach Clay Wheeler, Kalen Morris, Gage Rubin, Braden Russell, and Kaleb Vestal.
Submitted photo

The Nevada High School swim team recently celebrated its most successful season in program history via its postseason awards banquet. Team highlights for Nevada included numerous top finishes during the regular-season as well as a fifth-place Class 1 state championship meet finish in the 200-yard Freestyle Relay, and a ninth-place state-meet finish in the 200 Medley Relay. In addition, NHS junior Ben Hines repeated as a state champion gold medalist in the 50 and 100-yard Freestyle events.

Postseason accolades distributed by NHS head coach Clayton Wheeler, were: All-Big 8 Conference First-Team: 200 Medley Relay Team: Ben Hines, Tyler Armstrong, Grant Miller, and Kalen Morris; 200 Freestyle Relay Team: Kalen Morris, Ben Hines, Braden Russell, and Grant Miller; Ben Hines 100 Butterfly and 100 Backstroke; and Grant Miller 50 Free and 100 Free.

All-Big 8 Conference Second-Team: Braden Russell 200 Free; and Kalen Morris 50 Free and 100 Backstroke.

Nevada High team award winners are recognized.
Submitted photo

All-Big 8 Conference Honorable Mention: Karter Evans 500 Free; Braden Russell 100 Backstroke; and Tyler Armstrong 100 Breaststroke.

Big 8 Conference Swimmer of the Year: Ben Hines

Recognition of state performances: 200 Free Relay team, fifth-place Kalen Morris, Ben Hines, Braden Russell, and Grant Miller; 200 Medley Relay team, ninth-place: Hines, Armstrong, Miller, and Morris; Hines First-place in 50 and 100 Free.

Team awards: Most Valuable Swimmer: Ben Hines; Team Leadership Award: Grant Miller; Most Improved Swimmer: Russell Brattin; Outstanding First Year Swimmer: Tretin Raney.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: